Think Positive, Part 1: Optimism & Opportunities

It’s important for everyone to be positive, and writers are no exception with the plethora out there who feel as if they will never be published, never be famous, or never be able to earn a living writing. If you want to change your life, a change of attitude is required. The Think Positive series of blog posts involve no airy fairy bull, only facts and real means of achieving your goals, whatever they may be. Read on to find out how you can change your life and turn your dreams into your reality…

“Optimism is a tendency to expect the best outcome or to focus on the most hopeful aspects of any situation.”

Optimists tend to see the silver lining of every situation, even truly stressful ones like divorce, losing your job or having a bad working environment. An optimist generally considers the closing of one door an opportunity for another to open. Studies have shown that this attitude considerably reduces chronic stress and depression. While it may seem impossible to see any good in a truly bad, miserable situation, doing so will not only lead to better things in your life, but will also make you feel far more capable of getting through it.

For me, a bad working environment in which I felt used, overworked and underpaid slowly pushed me into seriously considering working for myself. The plan was to save up enough to get us by for a few months, then resign from my job and start my own business. It didn’t quite work out that way. The job I was in at the time was one in which no overtime was necessary most days. However, in spite of this, my boss turned around one day and ever so politely told me that if I didn’t work late every night, I wouldn’t ever get anywhere in the company. Basically, I was expected to waste my personal time on company business that could wait until the next day (without overtime pay, I must add). I went home that night livid and told my husband I wanted to resign. Seeing how unhappy I was, he agreed, even though we hadn’t saved a cent at that point. My boss’ asinine comment pushed me into doing what I’d wanted to do for years, but hadn’t had the courage to. (If you’re reading this, you know who you are, and I have one thing to say to you: thank you!)

The point of this story? I could have chosen to go home and rant to my husband, then go into work the next day moody and unhappy, resigning myself to being miserable in my job and never getting anywhere in life. Instead, I took action to remove the negative situation from my life, as frightening as that was.

As if having no income saved and no business lined up yet wasn’t daunting enough, some of those who I’d trusted to assist me by continuing to send me the freelance work they had been for years went out of their way to sabotage my endeavours. They, too, know who they are, and I thank them too from the bottom of my heart, because, though it hurt at the time, it showed me that I do not need to rely on anyone other than myself in order to be a success. Yes, we all need help from time to time, and it’s vital to network in any business, but this doesn’t mean that if someone lets you down ‘it’s over and you’re doomed to fail’. Find another way. I did.

In the end, all these seeming curses turned out to be blessings. So whatever situation you’re in right now as you read this, sit back, take a deep breath, remove yourself from your emotions, and seek the positive in the situation – there is always a silver lining for positive thinkers, even if it takes some time to reveal itself.

One of the many problems with being negative is that it blocks your ability to spot opportunities and drains your motivation to grab those you do see. The more positive you are, the happier you are. The happier you are, the more energy you’ll have to take the best advantage of every opportunity that comes your way. You don’t even have to believe me – the universe works this way whether you believe it or not, the same way the Earth didn’t become flat simply because so many believed it was.

“The law of attraction is this: you don’t attract what you want. You attract what you are. ~ Dr. Wayne Dyer”

When we think positive thoughts, we feel good and visualise what we want. This makes us happy and, in turn, increases our feeling of vitality. When you feel this way, you literally send out waves of happiness that others can sense, and your body language exudes it too. This vibe attracts opportunity in the form of people who might not have otherwise given you a second glance.

Besides this, research has shown that optimists tend to be healthier too, mentally and physically. This is because being negative drains you physically and emotionally, while being positive gives you increased energy and strengthens your immune system, thereby boosting your body’s ability to handle stress, both physical and mental.

Now that you know how important it is to your well being to be an optimist, take the next step and watch out for Think Positive, Part 2: Negative Influences, which will be published on 17 June.

About Fireblade Publishers

Fireblade Publishing is a one stop publishing service that approaches every aspect of the publishing process with passion and dedication.
This entry was posted in Outside the Box and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Think Positive, Part 1: Optimism & Opportunities

  1. Aneza Lee says:

    Reblogged this on Aneza Lee.

Leave a Reply

